Working out during pregnancy

When I found out I was pregnant with my first child back in 2003 I was going to the gym at 5 A.M. Monday thru Friday.  I managed to continue taking a step class, walking on the treadmill, and mild strength training up until I was 9 months.  At that point I just couldn’t keep up with the early mornings and of course I was still working full-time.  After my son was born I made an attempt to go back to the gym but those sleepless nights and long days at the office kept me from going 5 days a week.  Eventually I quit going all together.  Needless to say I never got back to pre pregnancy weight and I had two more kids so I kept adding on the pounds and getting more out of shape. Fast forward to September of 2009, I realized it was time to make some healthy changes.  With three boys I  needed to be in better shape to keep up with their energy level.  Not to mention I was just unhappy with my weight.  I began the P90X lean program because my husband had great results.  I finished 90 days and was very happy with the results.  I loved the fact that I could work out at home instead of trying to find a sitter for the kids or load them all up in the car to take them to the gym daycare.  It fit perfectly into my schedule.  In January of 2010, I made the decision to become a Beachbody coach.  I thought if I was going to continue working out then I wanted the accountability and the chance to encourage others.  This was a great decision for me.  I had some friends that were beginning to do P90X so I decided to do another round.  I had lost all the weight I wanted to but still had lots of toning up to do.  I also decided to try Turbo Jam just to change things up a bit.  I had heard so many great things about Turbo Jam and Chalene Johnson.  Then in March I found out I was expecting another baby.  What was I going to do?  I enjoyed working out and I didn’t want to get out of my routine.  After discussing with the doctor she said I could continue working out as long as I didn’t let me heart rate get to high and I listened to my body and rest when I needed to.  I must say this was my easiest pregnancy.  I would like to think that the exercise had something to do with that.  I did gain 33 pounds but I am thinking that it will be easier to lose them this time around.  I can’t wait to get doctor’s clearance to work out again.  I am already trying to figure out what program I want to start next…Insanity, Turbofire, oh there are just too many choices. 

 I take pictures during my pregnancy every four weeks.  I thought it might be fun to compare my last pregnancy where I didn’t exercise at all and this one were I was doing modified versions of P90X and Turbo Jam. Pictures on the left are from my 2009 pregnancy(no exercise.) The pictures on the right are from this last pregnancy (with exercise. )  Pictures were taken at 16, 20 and 36 weeks. 

 

Leave a Reply

