Fat Shredder

Today I had my 6 week postpartum check up.  As soon as I got on the scale at the doctor’s office I was happy to see that I had lost 15 pounds since delivery.  I need to lose 18 more to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight.  The doctor said I was cleared to begin exercising again.  Call me crazy but I have agreed to meet at my friend’s house at 4:30 A.M. to workout.  Yes, I know that is early but I have to be home by 6 so my husband can go to work.  I am usually more of a morning person anyway.  Plus working out in the morning will jump start my metabolism and I can burn more calories through out the day.  I am very excited to get back into a routine.  I decided to start back up with P90X.  I wanted to start there because I am familiar with the exercises and nutrition plan.  The first phase is the Fat Shredder phase.  I prefer to use the portion approach which tells you how many servings of each type of food you should eat every day.  I write down my servings in a notebook each day so that I can avoid over or under eating.  Nutrition is critical to any workout program.  If I am going to put forth all the effort to do the physical exercises I don’t want to mess it up by cheating on my diet.  Below are the servings for the Fat Shredder phase Level 1:

5 proteins

2 dairy

1 fruit

2 vegetables

1 fat

1 Carb

1 snack

1 condiment

One of my favorite recipes from this phase is the Chicken Salad.  I usually eat the chicken salad on top of spinach to save on the carbs. 

Chicken Salad

6 oz  chicken, 2 tablespoons mayonnaise, ¾ tablespoon Dijon mustard, 2 tablespoon green onion diced, 1/8 teaspoon black pepper, 1/8 teaspoon fresh dill, 1/4 cup celery diced 

Poach chicken, cool and dice.  Gently combine the chicken with the remaining ingredients and chill until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

