Jump Start your metabolism

This is my first week getting back into a regular exercise routine.  Today makes day 4 of working out.  It is amazing how much better I feel already.  I felt like my emotions were out of whack these six weeks that I had to rest.  A friend of mine wanted to start working out together but the only catch was we had to work out at 4:30 A.M.  Believe it or not that sounded fine with me because  my husband has to be at work by 6:30 and my 2 month old usually wakes up around 4 anyway.  This is the perfect opportunity for me to get out of the house by myself and have an accountability partner to make it easier to reach my fitness goals.  Yes, 4:30 is early but I honestly have more energy and have been able to get more things accomplished during the day.   I realize that working out in the morning might not be for everyone.  It really is a personal preference.  There is a benefit for exercising this early.  Working out in the morning will “jump start” your metabolism keeping it elevated for hours which means you will burn more calories all day long.  Now I have one question for you.  Is 4 A.M. considered morning or is that still night?  As you can imagine I have had several people tell me that I am crazy for getting up at that hour.

Now with those extra hours in the day I like to prepare dinner ahead of time that way my evenings are free to help with homework, take the kids to karate, or just have fun with the family.  I found a great crock pot recipe that is very tasty and a favorite with the kids.

Cajun Chicken Sausage and Rice

6 boneless chicken breast or thighs

1 lb lean smoked sausage (I use Turkey sausage)

1 green pepper chopped

1 red pepper chopped

1 onion chopped

1 cup celery sliced

1 can dice tomatoes undrained

3 chicken bouillon cubes dissolved in 1/2 cup of water

4 bay leaves

1 teaspoon thyme leaves

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 black pepper

2 cups instant rice ( I use brown rice)

Place all ingredients except chicken in slow cooker, stir to blend well.  Top with chicken and sprinkle with black pepper, and cover.

Cook 8 hours on low or 4 hours on high until chicken is cooked through and vegetables are tender.

Gently stir in rice cover and cook for 15 to 20 minutes on high until rice is tender.  Remove bay leaves.

For best results do not remove cover during cooking.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Gordon
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 22:22:58

    Thanks for sharing Marisa! This looks delicious…and easy!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

