Without the scale

 I survived an entire month of 4:30 A.M. workouts as today marked the end of phase 1 of P90X.   I wasn’t sure I could keep up with that early morning schedule but I did and it feels like a great accomplishment.   I am not a fan of the scale.  As a matter of fact I don’t even have one in my house.   Instead of measuring my progress in pounds I decided to see how my clothes fit, compare my energy level, and take measurements of my waist and hips.  

 Happy to report that several of my jeans are now too baggy.  I have dropped down a size in shirts.  I think it is time to invest in a cute belt because I am not ready to buy new clothes just yet.  I still have 60 days before I finish this round of P90X and I hope to lose more during the next two phases.

The first week waking up at 4 am was painful.  I will admit I hit snooze once or twice.  I actually considered texting my work out partner to say I wasn’t going to be able to make it.  I had a million excuses like the baby kept me up all night or that the ice on my windshield would take to long to thaw out.  All of those sounded ridiculous to me so I pushed myself to get out of my warm bed, get dressed and drive to my friend’s house.  A little discipline can go a long way as I am happy to report that I am now waking up BEFORE my alarm goes off.  I actually have more energy on the days I work out compared to my rest day. I love having some extra time in the mornings before the kids wake up.  I can prioritize my to-do list and check a few emails before it is time to chase the wild ones, oh wait I mean darling children of mine.

Last but not least I took out the old tape measure. I lost 2.5 inches in my waist and hips.  Although this is not exactly what I had hoped I am happy with the overall results.  The first month is the hardest part.  It takes time to build the momentum but now I am excited for Phase 2!

I do need to improve on my eating habits.  I didn’t always make the right food choices.  Now that I have my routine firmly in place I will concentrate more on the nutrition portion during the next 30 days.  excercise is only part of the equation.  I need to make sure I eat right too.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harmony
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 17:53:48

    GREAT JOB MARISA!! I’m struggling with my eating too but I keep pushing play and trying to get it under control. I’m wrapping up wk 3 with P90X but restarted my round…so just finishing week 1. It’s amazing at how uncoordinated and weak I was when I first started. I may not being going down any on the scales but I’m def getting stronger…which means I can push harder on my workouts = more calories burned! BRING IT!!

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 07:49:18

    LOVED it! I had no idea you had a blog, let alone write so well! I just finished week 5 of working out 4 days a week (minimum). I alternate between the elipticals and treadmill, aiming for 450-520 calories a session. I’m stunned that the weight is not pouring off of me, but I can tell a difference in my clothes, engery, sleep and even my outlook. 4 pounds gone is at least better than a 4 pound gain! And I have 3 pairs of pants that are now too baggy… 😀
    Keep it up, girl; you’re inspiring so many!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

