A different point of view

I started out making cupcakes without frosting for my picky birthday boy who was turning 4. We always celebrate his birthday on Superbowl Sunday.  Each year I have tried to change up the decorations a little while still keeping the football theme. I found a recipe for Oreo truffles.  They were shaped into little footballs and decorated so cute.  Crushed up Oreos how hard could that be?  I should mention that baking is not my strong point.  Actually, until I became a stay at home mom I avoided the kitchen whenever possible. 

The directions looked simple.  But I quickly figured out that I was in over my head.   To make matters worse I ran out of the chocolate coating so half of the truffles didn’t get finished. As I set the truffles aside to dry, I debated on whether or not I should continue with my little project. I figured no one would want them since they didn’t look perfect.   I was close to tears because they didn’t look anything like the picture I had found earlier.  Just when I was about to give up, my 4 yr old walks into the kitchen and says “Football cookies… Awesome!”  He then asked if those were for his big party. My tears turned into laughter and my whole perspective changed.  I wasn’t entering a baking contest.  The truffles didn’t need to be perfect.  My only goal was to make the day special for my birthday boy.  Mission accomplished!  He couldn’t wait to take them to Grandma and Grandpa’s house to show his cousins and the rest of the guests at the party.  Turns out they were a big hit.   My parents are flying in for a visit this weekend.  I think I will make some heart-shaped Oreo truffles to celebrate Valentine’s day.  

                                                                           

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 17:33:00

    What a great mom!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

