Let’s roll

When I think of my hometown in Oklahoma the Skate-a-rena comes to mind. It was one of the popular places to meet up with friends while I was in elementary school.  It was also the location of many birthday parties and our 6th grade graduation party.  Anyone remember following along to the hokey pokey song while balancing on skates?  How about trying to skate backwards on the rink without hitting anyone?  Or the couple skate?  Oh the memories that are flooding back to me as I type this.  These were good times.

Recently my oldest son has been asking to go roller skating.  I took him once during the summer with our church youth group.  Being pregnant at the time I had to watch from the sidelines.  He had a blast even though he spent most of the time holding on to the wall since it was his first time on skates.  Once a month his school sponsors a skate night at the local rink.  Every time he brings home the flyer he begs me to take him. Unfortunately, we have yet to attend due to prior commitments. 

My oldest son turns 7 on March 2nd.    I did a Lego themed  party at home last year.  It was a great experience but after welcoming my 4th child in November I realize I do not have as much time as I would want to host a birthday party in my home.  I created a list for my son of possible locations.  I am sure you can guess by now that he chose the skating rink.  Not only was it a great price but I am looking forward to kicking it old school while reliving some of my childhood. I actually might be more excited than the birthday boy! I can’t even remember the last time I put on roller skates.  I sure hope that it is  like riding a bike…..something you just never forget. 

In case I have a small piece of the birthday cake, I figured out that the average person burns 461 calories an hour roller skating.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charlotte
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 12:57:16

    When I was in high school (in Oklahoma) we went skating just about every night for awhile. Those are great memories. I’ve gone skating a few times through the years since then, but not in decades. I don’t think I’ll try it now. LOL. I think a skating party for your son would be great fun for all. You’ll probably enjoy it more than the kids.
    Have fun.
    Charlotte

    Reply

  2. Amy
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 17:02:09

    How about our rollerblading adventures??? I just have to laugh!

    Reply

  3. Elizabeth Frear
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 07:35:15

    Yay for rollerskating! Both my kids love it, and they each got a pair for their recent Birthdays… we have Great Skate right down the road, and I LOVE it there! Have a great time at the party!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

