Ready…Set…Go!

Every April our town celebrates the Pear Blossom festival.  There is a street fair, parade, 5K, 10 mile run and my personal favorite the Mayor’s Cup.  All of the local schools send home flyers to encourage students to participate in the Mayor’s Cup.  It wasn’t even an option in our house as my 1st grader insisted we sign up the whole family to run.  So for the 2nd year in a row our family ran/walked in the 1 mile and 2 mile Mayor’s Cup.

 All the boys were excited to put on their running pants and tennis shoes.  Once we pinned on their race numbers they couldn’t wait to get to the starting line.   The first race was the 1 mile.  Hudson (age 4) decided he wanted to ditch the stroller and run along side Daddy and big brother Ethan.  He did great.  I walked behind them pushing  Owen (22 months) in the stroller and carrying Megan (4 months) in the backpack carrier.  Once we crossed that finish line the boys were happy to receive their red ribbons.  We asked them if they were ready to go home.  Ethan and Hudson both replied “No, we need to do the 2 mile race. ”  I am all about family fitness so it sounded like a great idea to me.  This time Hudson rode in the stroller so that Daddy and Ethan could run a little faster with some friends that we met up with.  As soon as Hudson sat down in the stroller he became my little motivator.  He would tell me that I wasn’t pushing fast enough.  I would just laugh and tell him that there were people in front of us so I had to wait our turn.  He then would tell me that I shouldn’t let them beat us so I had to run faster.  Who am I to refuse a challenge?  I found the drive to move a little faster so that we could pass some people.  This made both Hudson and Owen very happy.  Once the finish line was in view Hudson jumped out of the stroller and ran across the finish line all by himself.  He wanted to hurry up and get his 2nd ribbon.  It was very cute. 

In case you were wondering how little Miss Megan did….I think she would have preferred to be sleeping.  It was a little chilly but we had her all bundled up.  She never cried and just watched everything around us.  Then while we were at breakfast she fell fast asleep.   This really is a great family event.  It was the perfect way to start our day.  A family tradition that we will continue for many years to come.

Leave a Reply

