Reading…Math…Fitness

One of the main reasons I wanted to stay at home with my children is so that I could be involved with their school.  I wanted to be able to volunteer in the classroom and to get to know the staff, students, and other parents. In honor of Teacher’s appreciation week the PTO at our school arranged for the teachers to get a personal assistant for a day.  As you have probably guessed by now the parents volunteered to be the assistants.  We were told that our responsibilities could include anything even picking up dry cleaning or making a coffee run.    I was up for the task and thought this was a great way to give back to our teachers that give so much of their time for our children.  I figured I would be grading papers, making copies, or helping with art projects.   However, much to my surprise my child’s teacher did not want help with personal tasks instead he requested help with The Presidential Physical Fitness Testing Program.  I was so excited to be a part of this.  Children today are easily tempted with T.V., computers, and video games that many forget to make time to exercise. 

The Presidential Physical Fitness Testing Program has been a tradition at my son’s school for several years. Each child’s fitness level is assessed and rewards are offered to encourage physical activity as one part of a healthy life style.  Students can earn a presidential physical Fitness Emblem and a Certificate or a national Physical Fitness Certificate by reaching fitness standards for their age level.  The activities measure muscular strength, endurance, speed, agility and flexibility.  Students are tested on five activities, Curl-ups, Shuttle Run, Sit and Reach, Endurance walk/run, and Pull ups.  I was able to assist with the Shuttle Run.  It was my job to time the students on their run.  I had so much fun cheering them on.  It is amazing how much energy kids have.  They were begging to do the run again.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney~Mommy LaDy Club
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 20:16:35

    I remember going through that. Do they still have the girls do the bar hang for a minute? Instead of curl ups, girls had to hold their chins above the bar…it was so tough!! Everything started to quiver and shake…so embarrassing at that age;) Nice to find you through VoiceBoks!
    ~Courtney

    Reply

Leave a Reply

