Schools out for summer

My 7-year-old jumped out of bed this morning excited to get ready for school.  Normally he is dragging his feet and I have to rush him out the door so we don’t miss the bus.   Today he was ready 30 minutes before we needed to leave.    At the bus stop he couldn’t stand still.  He was talking about how much fun he would have today.  He was hoping his teacher would have a surprise for them.  He was happy that he would not have any homework.   I was just smiling as I listened to him because he is was so excited about the last day of school. 

 The bus arrived.  I waved goodbye as he crossed the street just like every weekday morning.  Then the bus driver said to me, “Well, Mom we made it to the last day of school.  Have a good summer.  I will see you in the fall.”  I turned around and started walking back to the house.  Then it hit me.  My little boy was leaving this morning as a 1st grader but when he gets home he will be a 2nd grader.  I got emotional and the flood gates opened.  It seems like yesterday I was putting him on the bus for his first day of Kindergarten.  Where did the time go?  I have heard that phrase a million times.   I used to laugh.  Now that I have kids of my own that phrase takes on a whole new meaning. 

I had my little pity party on the walk back to the house.  Then I thought about all the fun things we would do this summer and the memories we will make.  My smile came back and I realized I have so much to be thankful for.  Life is good!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce Lansky
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 08:43:26

    Just wait until he marches across the stage and gets that high school diploma. **sniff** My youngest just graduated and we will be official empty nesters in the fall.

    Joyce
    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com

    Reply

  2. Melissa @ Mommy Living the Life of Riley!
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 13:28:28

    I’m following you via voiceBoks! Hope you’ll stop by and follow me too…have a wonderful day!

    By the way, if you’re interested, I host the Be-Bop-A Blog Hop on Wednesdays.

    http://www.mommylivingthelifeofriley.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

