I only have two hands

A recent conversation with my 4 yr old went something like this:

Son: Can you help me do this puzzle?

Me: In just a minute

Son: Can you get me a drink?

Me: yes, just give me one minute

Son: Can you help me with the puzzle now?

Me:  I will help you in just a second I am trying to fix your sister a bottle and I only have two hands.

Son: well, then you should be able to do TWO things!

I have always considered myself an organized person.  After having 1 child I still managed to stay on top of things.  Now with 4 kids,  I have to admit some days I feel overwhelmed.  I get frustrated that I didn’t accomplish everything I wanted during the day.  To keep myself on track I have started writing out a daily to-do list on a piece of paper.

I write my to-do list first thing in the morning.   Then I simply tackle one item at a time.  I always put exercise at the top of the list.   That way I feel stronger and have more energy to face the more difficult tasks. Of course sometimes I still don’t have time for everything but just getting it all out on paper helps relieve my stress.   I am sure some of you are laughing about now because with today’s technology I could be using an app on my phone to create this list.  But somehow it means more to me if I write it out and cross off each item myself.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 07:17:36

    Great post! Justin also loves to cross out or check off his list. Now, he keeps it in his phone, and can place a check-mark next to the item… timing it is important, too. He showed me how he was 20 minutes ahead of his ‘to-do list schedule’ the other night! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Gina
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 08:38:48

    List maker here too. I love the feeling of accomplishment when I get to cross something off!

    Reply

  3. marriedwchild
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 16:53:57

    What a great idea! Maybe I need to try a list. I only have one child and shhhh but I can not always stay on top of it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

