Buried in a pile of laundry.

My latest addiction is filling out online surveys. I joined swagbucks a few months ago, so the surveys allow me to earn points to trade in for amazon.com giftcards which then pay for diapers.   I really enjoy the entertainment surveys where I get to watch upcoming movie trailers or television clips but of course I don’t get to pick. Yesterday the survey was about bleach.  Somehow that lead to them wanting my opinion on some statements about laundry.  I could not stop laughing.  I was supposed to rate the statements from 1 to 5 with 5 being strongly agree.  Of course I can’t remember all of the statements that were listed but below are the 3 that really got to me.

Doing laundry is therapeutic.  I had to disagree with this statement. I don’t find it relaxing.  It is one of the chores I dread the most because it seems to take me all day by the time I sort, fold, and put away all the clothes.

Laundry is a thankless task. I was in the middle with this statement. On one hand my husband always seems to appreciate the fact that he  has clean clothes put away in the proper drawer and hanging in the closet.  But the kids have no problem changing clothes 5 times a day.  They also think that it is fun to unfold all the clothes or dump the contents of the laundry basket on the floor.

Laundry is a never-ending task.  This was the only statement I strongly agreed with.  At my house the dirty towels somehow multiply. Seriously if I pick up the pile of towels, place them in the washing machine, when I turn my head back around….another pile is there! It is crazy.  The kids’ hamper has a similar issue.  When I take out the last piece of clothing I always double-check to make sure the hamper is empty.  But five minutes later if I look in the hamper it is full again.

After completing the survey,  it got me thinking of a more important question.  What happens to the socks?  I am positive that I put pairs of socks in the washing machine but when I take the socks out of the dryer NOTHING matches.  I have looked on the floor but never find any.  I have looked in the washing machine to see if they got left behind but it is always empty.  The only logical explanation I guess is that my dryer eats them.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. veronicalee
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 07:37:31

    Hi! Stopping by from MBC. Great blog!
    Have a nice day!

    Reply

  2. Samantha Gluck
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 08:42:50

    I used to fill out online surveys. It can approach an addiction of sorts, I agree! However, I never had the pleasure to fill out a survey about laundry. The ones I worked on were for an insurance actuary and involved all types of personality and what if type questions. I got paid $5 to $15 for them and this was at least 12 years ago! Back to your laundry surveys. The statement, “I hate doing laundry,” is largely inaccurate. I have no problem sorting clothes, putting them in the washer, and subsequently moving them to the dryer. What I absolutely abhor is then folding them and putting them away. Ick! As a result, piles of clean laundry sit on my sofa until I force the kids to fold them, hang them, and put them away! Hubs thought of that solution. Blim Blam!

    Samantha from vB

    Reply

    • marisa frank
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 11:11:13

      Great solution to have the kids fold and put away the clothes. My oldest can help put them away but the other kids are too young. It will be nice when they can all help out more.

      Reply

  3. The Mom Journal
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 14:19:24

    LOL, I totally know what you mean about the socks! Ha! Now I have an “odd sock” drawer that I just put all the non-matching socks in, and eventually (well, sometimes) I find the other one and match’m up. It’s a never-ending activity!
    Following your blog now! Looks lovely!

    Reply

  4. Ada (Arizona Girls)
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 23:40:38

    I can so relate! And I don’t have 3 little ones haha The laundry always seems endless. And I have a sock eating washer or dryer or both too! Because I also seem to be missing socks from time to time?? It’s like the Bermuda Triangle of laundry haha

    Stopped by via voiceBoks =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

