Party like a Rockstar

When I was a kid my mother always made a big deal about our birthday parties.  My party was always held at Shakey’s Pizza Palor but each year the theme or character changed.  My Mother even had special guests at the party.   I can remember how surprised I was when Kermit the Frog  arrived for my Muppet themed party.  Although I still don’t know who she convinced to dress up in costume.  For my brother’s party the Incredible Hulk made a grand entrance and scared half of the kids.  Another  year my brother had The Lone Ranger and Tonto at his party and all the kids got to ride the horses.  Now I haven’t invited any special guests but I do love to come up with fun themes for my children’s birthdays. 

My oldest son loves cartoon characters so we have done Blue’s Clues, Veggie Tales, Thomas the Train, and Star Wars.  My middle son is a creature of habit.  He loves football and his birthday is the first of February so he always wants a Superbowl Party.  My challenge there is coming up with new football decorations and games to play each year.  My youngest son loves music. We have caught him trying to play with Daddy’s guitars  several times.   I wanted to incorporate guitars into the theme  but I wasn’t sure how to put it all together.    After searching the internet for hours I found the coolest plates that said Rockstar 2nd Birthday.  I immediately ordered a set of plates and napkins to start the planning.

This Rockstar party turned out to be  my favorite theme to date.  I actually had to ban myself from the stores because I kept finding more decorations and party favors.  I had no idea that guitars were so popular right now.   Thankfully the main colors were black and red.  That made it easy to mix and match.  A dear friend of mine designed the  invitation and banner.  I purchased guitar necklaces  at the dollar store.  I used the necklaces to tie the goodie bags so that the guitar was showing on the outside.  I found a kids wooden craft set at Micheal’s  that said Rock with a guitar.  I used that sign as the center piece on the table.  Fred Meyer had  silly bands shaped like guitars, drums, and microphone stands that I threw on the table kind of like confetti.  I do not understand the silly band craze but they were a big hit with all the kids. I ordered guitar cupcake toppers on ebay.  The Rockstar placemats were ordered online.  The kids really enjoyed the maze and word search on the back. 

The party was held in the late afternoon as a family BBQ.  We opted to just let the kids play outside instead of organized games.   I know that my little rockstar had a great time.  Below are some pictures of the decorations and of course a family photo with all of us wearing our guitar shirts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 12:19:23

    Love it! Aubs wants a Harry Potter Birthday party for her 11th in January. (11!!) This inspires me to start planning now! 🙂

    Reply

    • marisad21
      Jul 20, 2011 @ 14:36:35

      Ohhhhh, a Harry Potter party could be lots of fun! I believe it is never to early to start planning. As a matter of fact I am taking suggestions on a theme for Megan’s 1st birthday. I have never thrown a girl party before. Ha ha!

      Reply

  2. small Kucing
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 23:57:17

    gosh! The mini cupcakes with the guitar are just too cute to eat!

    kathy
    http://www.smallkucing.com
    http://mamakucingbooks.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

