Time to Bring It Again

My husband has been riding his  bike to work since the beginning of June.  This has inspired him to want to work out more.   During a recent conversation he suggested a round of P90X.  I never like to shy away from a challenge so I quickly agreed.  I have completed the program before so I thought it would be a piece of cake.  I don’t like to admit this but….I was wrong.

Previously, I have followed the lean program which provides more cardio and less resistance.  I started 6 weeks after my pregnancy so I was focused on shedding the baby fat.  I reached my goal weight therefore toning up is now my primary concern.  My husband’s goal is to gain mass.  So we will be doing the classic program for this round. 

I am a creature of habit. I prefer to do my work out first thing in the morning to jump-start my day.  I am encouraged when I  cross exercise off my to-do list even before the kids are awake. It also gives me more energy to chase after the  kids.   However, my husband is NOT a morning person.   There is no way I can convince him to give up 90 minutes of sleep in order to work out before he has to go to the office.  So we are working out in the evenings after all the kids activities and dinner.  Today was day 4 of this new routine.  I had no idea that working out at the end of the day would seem harder for me.  It is a whole new adventure and I am curious to see if I learn to love the new schedule. 

I have discovered that I am more competitive now that my husband and I doing P90X together.  Of course I can’t lift the heavy weights like he can.  But I push myself harder to do more reps.  I refuse to do the girlie push-ups when he is in the room.  I attempt pull-ups without the chair.  In other words I get out of my comfort zone.  A little competition is good for a marriage right?

I am definitely excited for this round.    Only 86 more days to go!  Oh yes, I am counting down because  we have planned it perfectly so that day 90 is  the week of our 10th wedding anniversary.  Our reward for completing the program will be a vacation to San Francisco.  By vacation I mean no kids, so Mom if you are reading this it’s time to book your flight to stay at my house.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brooke
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 06:16:19

    I have no doubt you will reach your goal and that vacation will be well deserved!

    Reply

  2. marisad21
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 14:34:36

    Thank you for the encouragement!

    Reply

  3. Gina
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 14:34:58

    Do your best and forget the rest, right? I did a round of p90x this past winter. While I still entertain the idea of starting it up again, my body thinks differently. Good luck! You’re gonna do awesome…

    Reply

    • marisad21
      Jul 22, 2011 @ 15:26:13

      Thanks Gina! I did 90 days of RevAbs with Brett Hoebel April-June. I did enjoy the change of pace and I loved the capoeira elements. I saw good results with RevAbs, however, I keep coming back for more P90X punishment.

      Reply

  4. Elizabeth
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 19:42:02

    “I refuse to do the girlie push-ups when he is in the room” – that was my very favorite sentence. You are like G.I. Jane, girl! I’m rootin’ for you! 🙂

    Reply

  5. alissa apel
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 11:28:19

    Where can I find out about P90X? I need to exercise more. I speed walk at lunch and lift arm weights throughout the day. That helps, but I need more.

    Now following you from VoiceBoks.

    Reply

  6. Callie Feyen
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 11:43:11

    That’s awesome! I am like you and would prefer to work out in the morning, because I can tell the difference it makes in my energy level throughout the day. But I usually schedule my workouts around the classes I like at the gym and those tend to be at night.

    Very motivating post!

    Reply

  7. Dangzter Online
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 23:37:08

    Wow, I admire your enthusiasm and will to do it! I’m sure you can achieve your goal.

    Your post made me smile as me and my husband do walking and jogging exercise in the morning. However our case is different because my husband is the one who wakes me up and drags me out from bed to do the routine at 5:45 AM! Most the time, he goes on his own and I continue dreaming. 🙂

    This activity is really a bonding among couple that nurtures relationship. So keep it up!

    DANGZTER ONLINE from voiceBoks
    http://dangzteronline.blogspot.com

    Reply

  8. Rosann
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 16:10:34

    I’ve been wanting to try out P90X, but haven’t yet. I’ve heard so much about it that I’m totally intrigued. I love a hard workout that involves lots of muscle confusion and quick-to-see results. A friend of mine was doing P90X for a while with her husband and felt the same way when he was in the room. Very competitive. I think I’d be that way too. Maybe after I get this half-marathon behind me (in October) I’ll queue P90X up as my next challenge. Keep up the great work and congratulations on your upcoming anniversary! 🙂

    Blessings,
    Rosann

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Confession: I might have skipped a few workouts. « Marisa 4.0

Leave a Reply

