Family Hike

I spent most of my childhood in Oklahoma.  Then after high school I moved to Arizona.  Both of those places can get pretty miserable during the summer..  In Oklahoma I couldn’t go outside because the mosquitoes would eat me alive.  In Arizona I didn’t want to go outside because it felt like an oven. Three years ago we moved to Oregon.  Now I look forward to summertime because there are so many beautiful places to see.  I am learning to love the outdoors. 

Recently we took a Sunday drive up to Bend, Oregon.  We stopped at the Lava River Cave.  This cave is Oregon’s longest continuous lava tube.  Inside the cave is a crisp 42 degrees.  Round trip the hike is about 2 miles.  Although the last part requires you to crawl. It was a great place for the whole family to explore.   This is not a guided tour so you must carry your own flashlights.  We also rented a lantern which are available at the gate entrance.   The boys had a blast.  It is funny to see their differently personalities.  My 4 year old stayed really close to us and wanted to carry his own flashlight so he could see everything.  My 2 year old had no fear!  He didn’t want to be carried.  He also didn’t feel the need to have a flashlight and wanted to run ahead.  We had our work cut out for us trying to keep up with him.  I was carrying our 8 month old daughter.  She did very well on the hike.  It was only on our way back that she got a little fussy.  I think she was getting too cold.  My parents were visiting from Oklahoma and they thought the entire cave was fascinating. 

Below are a few pictures from this most recent family adventure.  After 15 years living in the desert I am still amazed by all the trees here.    The first two photos were taken on the drive to Bend.  The rest were taken once we arrived at the cave.  We should have taken a lot more but we were so busy exploring the cave we didn’t stop for photos. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashton
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 07:43:27

    What a great active family activity!! I’m your newest follower! (on facebook and twitter too!) Thanks for the welcome to voiceboks!

    Ashton
    https://www.somethingswanky.com

    Reply

  2. Terri
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 08:38:31

    It looks like a lot of fun, I love all of your photos.

    Reply

  3. Kristina
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 00:22:36

    The lava cave does sound fascinating! I really love to go hiking, and enjoy taking my children out to see places when I can. I think something that is about 2 miles is the perfect distance for kids when they’re that young (mine are also 4 and 2:).
    Thanks for sharing your photos:)
    Visiting from vB,
    Kristina

    Reply

  4. Jennifer Medeiros
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 04:30:25

    Those are beautiful pictures 🙂 I never thought OK looked liked that.

    Reply

  5. small Kucing
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 07:25:06

    That is a lot of walking. Salute the kids. They can sure walk. Love the pix

    Visiting from VB 🙂

    kathy
    http://www.smallkucing.com
    http://mamakucingbooks.blogspot.com

    Reply

  6. Glenda Cates
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 07:58:10

    I Loved the pictures and your blog. I also Loved learning more about you as I am a member of Voice books too and I am a new follower of yours. I hear a lot fo good things about Beach Body. I may need to check into it soon. I wish you a nice day. I have been to Oklahoma a lot as I live in Texas where it is stiffling.

    Reply

  7. Staci
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 09:51:24

    I remember being in Arizona at ASU. It did get very hot….and I love how everyone called it a dry heat, unlike what we have on Long Island, which is a humid heat.
    Guess what? STILL HOT! I much prefer the change of seasons, but I could do without so much winter where I live…..the snow and sub zero weather is starting to get to me. Wish I could visit Oregon…..looks amazingly beautiful. Sort of like Upstate New York in the Lake George area. Love it up there.
    Great pix!
    Visiting from vB and our Members to Remember!

    Reply

  8. Not Your Ordinary Agent
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 13:52:14

    i really would love to see oregon! thanks for the preview!!!

    http://www.homesandbabies.com
    http://notyourordinaryrecipes.blogspot.com

    Reply

  9. Kathy
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 16:29:04

    How great!! I have always lived in the Northeast but would love to visit Oregon one day! I think it is just wonderful that you all went exploring! Being the mother of three kids as well I can completly relate to the different personalitiies! It is funny how they are all so different! Thanks for such a fun post! Happily visiting from VoiceBoks and members to remember!!

    Reply

  10. Lisa
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 17:19:56

    Scary caves and brave kids! ( : (And brave mom and dad!) I live among redwoods, so used to the tall trees. Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures! I’m visiting from voiceBoks.

    Reply

  11. ramona
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 08:19:46

    my friend is from ok and i’ve been to az many times – both suck in my opinion. oregon is beautiful! so glad you ended up somewhere nice 🙂

    Reply

  12. mamawolfe
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 00:26:36

    Bend is one of my favorite places to visit! I remember taking my baby to the caves…I don’t really like going deep inside!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

