Thankful Thursday

School started this week for my 2 oldest children.  I have one in 2nd grade and one that started preschool.  My second grader insists on riding the bus to school.  He wants to be independent and he loves riding the bus.  At first I was sad that he didn’t allow me to drive him to school and walk him to his classroom, but now that I have 4 children I consider it a blessing that I don’t have to load everyone in the car.

 My pre-schooler has been counting down the days until the first day of school for months.  He looks up to his big brother and wanted nothing more than to go to school too. As we walked into his classroom I saw many children clinging to their parents.  Some were crying, some were screaming, and some had their head buried in their parents shoulder.  The teacher was doing her best to convince those children that pre-school was fun and that they would meet a lot of new friends.  My child looked at me said “Bye Mom”  and then he was off to find his seat.  Looks like he is going to be independent like his brother.

Today I am thankful…..

That my boys are excited to go to school

That my boys had a great 1st day of school

For the teachers that help my child succeed

For the bus driver that picks up my son at the end of our street


6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 09:21:50

    I had to laugh, becuase when my third child went to nursrey school, at 2 and half, all the little ones were crying, and my child did too, but only when I picked him up!!! The teacher would have him in her arms and softly coo to him, it’s ok Peter, you get to comeback Wednsday!! It is wonderful that they are happy to go to school and the world and then come back home to mommy!! I love your list!!

    Reply

    • marisad21
      Sep 08, 2011 @ 16:38:12

      It’s funny sometimes I almost get offended that they are so independent and easily go into a classroom setting. It doesn’t matter if they are at school, church, or even the grocery store play area. But I should count my blessings. They are always excited to see me when I pick them up and that makes me smile.

      Reply

  2. Essential Mama Baby
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 10:51:18

    First day of school is always exciting. Last year, my daughter started going to school and I will never forget her first day. It was very different from your son’s, she was crying and so was I. LOL!
    This year she couldn’t wait to go back and see her friends!

    Stopping by from VB thankful Thursday. I’m your new NetworkedBlogs follower!
    http://www.essentialmamababy.blospot.com

    Reply

  3. marisad21
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 16:40:46

    I have 3 boys and 9 months ago my daughter was born. I am very curious to see if she takes after the boys or if she is more hesistant in social settings. But I even if she is shy I am glad to know that the second year she will be happy to see her friends.

    Reply

  4. Paula Ebert
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 17:26:15

    I can definitely relate with you. 🙂 My oldest boy started kindergarten this year and was very excited. My little girl went to preschool very excited, as well! It is a blessing to watch our children grow up!!! And I am also thankful for the teachers who take the time and pour their lives into our kids. 🙂 Thanks for linking up! Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  5. pargasjunkyard
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 19:09:00

    Hi! Found you via Thankful Thursday blog hop! Really enjoyed your blog! Follow back please @ http://www.pargasjunkyard.wordpress.com and/or on facebook @

    Reply

Leave a Reply

