Back to school

I do believe we are the last of all our family and friends to start school. It seems that most schools are starting in August. I remember back when I was a child school always began the day after labor day and that is exactly when my kids started this year. My oldest is now a 2nd grader. He enjoyed his summer break but last week he let me know that he was ready to see his friends. I think he was getting bored and was ready to get back into a routine. He was excited to put all his new supplies in his backpack. He  was curious to see if any new kids would be on his bus this year. When he came home from school I asked how his day was and he replied “It was great, my teacher is much nicer than I thought she would be.” Sounds like we are off to a good start!

My 4-year-old started pre-school this week. He will be attending two days a week. The first morning I dropped him off many of the other students were crying and refusing to let go of their parents. He walked right in put his backpack in his cubbie and never looked back. There are times that I wonder if I should be offended that my boys are so willing to join the classroom. But then I realize I should count my blessings. I should be happy that they are eager to learn and socialize. When I picked him up from class he was excited to show me his paperwork. His teacher assured me that he had a great 1st day. I will admit I was a little worried. Not that I thought he would be scared or anything but he has a tendency to be mischievous. My only problem now is that he wants to go every day and he gets upset on the days he has to stay home.

I was so surprised at how many activities there are for my 7-year-old. I don’t remember being so busy in grade school. Don’t get me wrong I am happy that he has a busy social calendar but with 4 kids I find it harder to remember everything. Thankfully a few months ago a friend of mine introduced me to Cozi.  It has changed my life.  I enter all our important dates into an online calendar.  I thought I was organized until I realized that I was forgetting to tell my husband about important dates and activities.   Now my husband and I on the same page as he as access to the calendar right on his phone.  Cozi even sends out an email once a week to remind us of the upcoming  week’s activities.   I was so excited to learn that Cozi would pull in my son’s school calendar from the school’s website.   I am still working out a few kinks with our new schedule but I can already tell it is going to be a fun school year.  I only have one question…is it sad that most of the appointments are for my 7-year-old?  I do believe his social calendar is busier than mine!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Irene
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 19:40:03

    It amazes me the schoolwork and schedules these little ones have these days. I don’t remember having nearly this much when I was a kid. Cozi sounds pretty cool – will have to check it out

    Reply

    • marisad21
      Sep 10, 2011 @ 16:34:55

      I was shocked that my son had homework packets as early as Kindergarten. I just remember coloring and playing with blocks at that age. But he seems to love it. As long as he gets good grades then I am willing to let him participate in the other activities.

      Reply

  2. Lacey N.
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 14:56:51

    I signed up for Cozi too, but I don’t use it much. My kids are not in school yet, so the only appointments we ever add to the calendar are doctor’s appointments – that’s no fun! haha

    Lacey

    Reply

    • marisad21
      Sep 10, 2011 @ 16:39:05

      I can see where the dr appointment reminders would be no fun. But just wait once they start school you have so many deadlines and dates to remember. Not to mention all the birthday invites, fieldtrips, and sporting events. My husband likes the weekly email because he keeps it on his phone and then he doesn’t have to keep asking me what our plans are for that day.

      Reply

  3. Christina
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 14:20:49

    I may have to check out Cozi. I’m always in need of something to organize myself and all the kids and the husband lol.

    Glad that the first days of school went so well for you!

    Reply

  4. Laura@Catharsis
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 15:09:36

    Do you know how much you just saved my life??? No, really. Do you know? I did not know Cozi existed. Now I’m going to have to write a blog post about it and get the word out. And, of course, I’ll link to you! I am so overwhelmed with appointments, I can’t keep them all straight. To make matters worse, our younger son suffered a stroke in utero, which means he has a bajillion doctor appointments, and my husband and I spend all our time trying to keep them in order. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!

    Reply

  5. marisad21
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 18:35:53

    You are very welcome! I am so glad Cozi will help you. I don’t know how I survived without it. I actually get excited now when there is an appointment to add to the calendar.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: A Whole Lotta Hells Yeah Just Awesome Bombed My Life: Cozi, The Family Organizer | Catharsis
  7. Mommy Bags
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 07:54:57

    OK I need to check out this Cozi because I just started touring pre schools and with my schedule and the little ones it has been impossible to keep everything together. Found your site via the vB. Hope you can come by anc check out my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

