The Little Things

I grew up in Oklahoma. There were a lot of things I liked about it but as a junior in high school I knew that I wanted to move to a bigger city. I spent the summers in Phoenix, Arizona visiting family and I loved it. I enjoyed all the different stores and restaurants to choose from. I loved attending concerts and sporting events. It just seemed like there was always something to do in Phoenix. The weather was a big plus for me too since Oklahoma always had unpredictable weather. I didn’t like the humidity, wind, or tornadoes. Yes, Phoenix was hot but it was consistent and I loved the sun! So instead of staying in Oklahoma for my Senior year of high school I moved to Phoenix. For 15 years I called Phoenix home and I made some great memories. But 3 years ago we moved to the town my husband grew up in and I am learning to appreciate living in a smaller town again.

My husband works 4 days a week so Tuesday feels like a Monday too me. My oldest son rides the school bus then I must get my 3 younger kids dressed and out the door by 7:45 A.M. so that I can drop off my 4-year-old at preschool. I thought I had everything on track this morning. I got my oldest on the bus, made breakfast for the other three and got the kids dressed. I started loading them in the car and somehow I was leaving 5 minutes behind schedule. Of course this really isn’t a huge deal since nothing will happen if we are late to preschool. My son might miss a few minutes of gym time but he is not going to be marked tardy. As I start driving my mind wanders to how much work it will be to get all 3 kids into the classroom. My two-year-old likes to test boundaries so I must put him the stroller so that he doesn’t try to make a mad dash through the parking lot and of course my daughter is not walking yet so I have to carry her. Once we arrive in the parking lot, my four-year-old is anxious to get inside because he doesn’t want to miss anything. Just as I start to unfold the stroller one of the Mom’s I met during open house stops me and says “would you like me to wait in the car with your younger children?”  I couldn’t put the stroller away fast enough. Once I got back to the car she assured me that it does get easier.  She had 4 kids like me and her children ate just a few years older.   I was feeling frazzled this morning and this simple act of kindness from a fellow Mom really brightened my day. 

As much as I loved the big city I was always in a hurry. I would get frustrated with the traffic. I would get upset if there was a long line at the store. I took my son to the same daycare center for a year and I didn’t know any of the other parents. Now that I think about it I only knew one of our neighbors after living in our house for two years. I guess I wasn’t the only one in a hurry. Funny how things change. My friends back in Arizona always ask me if I like living in Oregon. When I say yes their next question is why. I can honestly say that one of the main reasons is because the people are so nice. Almost everyone I come in contact with will strike up a conversation. People are laid back and always seem willing to lend a hand. The story I mentioned earlier is just the most recent example. After being in a hurry for 15 years I am enjoying the slower pace, especially now that I am a parent. I realize that life goes by so fast and our children grow up quick.  It is nice to sit back and just enjoy the little things.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 15:45:55

    I would absolutely LOVE to live in a small town… what you mentioned being one of my top reasons! It is so hard to strike a slower pace in the middle of … blur.
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

