My kids are doing more chores and I didn’t raise my voice. How did that happen?

My boys love electronics. From the time they were toddlers they have been pushing buttons on the remote control, cell phones, and the computer.  Just the other day my 2 year managed to grab my phone and send 2 tweets.  My 4-year-old has figured out that when the little envelope appears in the bottom right hand corner of the computer screen that I have a new email.  I lost count on the amount of times he has sent text messages to the people on my contact list. They know how to turn the music on from my ipod and read books on The Nook.  When I suggest that we call someone they run to the computer to log into Skype instead of grabbing the phone.  It still amazes me how much kids love technology.

Most days getting my kids to do simple chores like picking up their toys or making their bed is met with resistance.  I  have to remind them multiple times.  I have been using a chore chart that is dry erase and magnetic.  In the beginning they were excited to put the star on the chart every time they finished a task.  Then if they finished all the chores during the week, they would earn an allowance.  They would also earn minutes to play video games or watch tv.  Problem is I had to remember to update the chart and it was only good for a week.  No matter how good my intentions were with 4 kids something would distract me and the chart didn’t always get updated.  A few days ago a friend sent me an email to my job chart.  This website has motivated my children far more than I ever dreamed possible.

My job chart allows me to create job list for my children.   I can customize the list of jobs and set a point value for each task. Then I created a password for each child.  They are able to log in see their list and through out the day they check off the items that are completed.  Each time they complete a task points are added into their account.  After they have accumulated enough points they are able to look at the rewards.  They can then choose how they want to spend their points.  My job chart has a lot of suggested rewards but you can create your own  if you would like.  I added order from the book club, trip to Sonic Happy Hour, and a trip to Yogurt Hut since those are a few of my kids favorite things.  There is an option to link up with Amazon.com.  Last but definitely not least you can give to a charity.  

I spent an entire afternoon setting up the family profile, creating jobs, and customizing the rewards.  We set up our old desktop so that the boys will have their own computer to log into.  Then on October 1st I introduced the boys to the website.  They were so excited.  They were thrilled that I was giving them an excuse to get on the computer.  They felt so grown up with their own super secret password.  I couldn’t believe how much their attitude towards work changed.  Instead of me nagging them to do their chores they were fighting over whose turn it was to clean the bathroom.   I didn’t have to ask anyone to take out the trash and for the first time in weeks, I didn’t have to clear the table or load the dishwasher.  Since it motivated them to do chores,I didn’t stop there.  I added Homework, read a book, and exercise as ways to earn points. Yesterday my 4-year-old proudly did 50 push-ups so that he could mark that off his list. The possibilities are endless.  My workload just got a little lighter now that the boys want to help.  What am I going to encourage them to do next?

 As a parent it is up to me to teach my children to have a good work ethic.  I love that they are encouraged to take responsibility and at the end of the day they have a sense of accomplishment.  They get points for that hard work and then they choose how they want to spend it.  We are only on day 3 and it has made a huge difference.  I really believe it will only get better as they start to earn more rewards and see that hard work does pay off.

Leave a Reply

