Vacation was fun…now back to reality

Last week to celebrate 10 years of marriage my husband and I took a trip to San Francisco. I can’t even remember the last time I took a vacation without kids. I am so thankful that my parents were willing to fly from Oklahoma to stay at the house with our 4 children. I was able to enjoy my vacation knowing that my kids were making great memories with Buela and Grandpa. It was a great trip, one that I will remember for a long time.  But isn’t a vacation supposed to be relaxing? Why do I feel tired now that we are home?

Before my trip I was actually worried about getting behind on my work out schedule. I knew that I would stray from my diet with all the yummy food in San Francisco and I assumed that I wouldn’t get much exercise. I couldn’t have been more wrong! We didn’t want to spend the nearly 50 dollars a day for parking at our hotel so we didn’t rent a car. Instead we walked to our destinations. I enjoyed walking so that I could soak it all in.  I think the hotel staff was a little surprised that we were going to walk. The concierge told us it was an ambitious 45 minute walk to Fisherman’s wharf and every morning they asked if we wanted a taxi. I must admit that I was not used to walking all the hills. By the end of the day my legs were feeling it but I was happy to fit in the extra exercise.

The weather was absolutely beautiful so we headed to Bay City Bike to rent bikes. We went under the Golden Gate Bridge while aboard the Red and White Fleet Bay Cruise but we wanted to see it up close. I can now say that I biked the bridge. It was an amazing ride.   We faced  a few challenges since it was fleet week and there were thousands of people along the bike route to watch the Blue Angels. Once again those hills got the best of me. A few times I had to walk my bike up the hill because I just couldn’t pedal fast enough. But at the end of the day I was thrilled that I had burned some extra calories.

While in San Francisco we tried to see as many places as we could. I already mentioned Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge. We also went to Alcatraz, Chinatown, Little Italy, Union Square, Ghiradelli Square, Hyde Pier, Golden Gate Park, The California Academy of Sciences, and Six Flags Discovery Kingdom. Now that I am typing everything out I can see why I might be a little tired.

I love vacations and a chance to escape from the daily routine. Now it is Monday and my to-list is two pages long. Time to get back to the grind, but I am not even sure where to begin. Does any one else ever feel a little overwhelmed once they return from vacation?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy Radigan
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 00:15:59

    So glad you had a great vacation! Happy anniversary! It sounds like you had a great time. Getting back into the swing of things is always hard for me. Hope all goes well as you settle back to your day to day life! Enjoy!

    Reply

    • marisad21
      Oct 18, 2011 @ 23:49:02

      Thanks Kathy. My to do list is down to 1 page. So I am making progress. My biggest challenge now is getting the kids back to normal after being spoiled by the grandparents. Ha ha!

      Reply

  2. Richard Monroe
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 06:29:27

    I’m very jealous of your trip. I lived in SF for 3 years and its just the prettiest city in the country in my opinion. As far as natural beauty combined with an actual city, etc… I used to go back for work, but haven’t in years. We may take the family this summer.
    But yes, vacations can be exhausting even though they are supposed to be relaxing.
    Cheers and congrats on the VB special members thingy….

    Reply

    • marisad21
      Oct 24, 2011 @ 14:49:45

      I am glad to know that I am not the only one that thinks vacations can be exhausting. How cool that you lived there. I thought it was absolutely beautiful. I can’t wait to visit again.

      Reply

  3. Multi-Testing Mommy
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 07:27:26

    Here from VoiceBoks darling!

    We have our 10 year coming up in 2 more years – I can only hope that we are able to find someone to watch both of our kids so we can go somewhere too! Sounds so nice!

    Reply

  4. marisad21
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 14:55:20

    Start looking for someone to watch the kids now. You must take a trip. I love my kids but it was so nice to get away with just my husband. It felt like we were dating again. Of course by the end of the trip were both excited to get home to the children.

    Reply

  5. Cookie's Mom
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 16:27:00

    I just love San Fransisco. Haven’t been there for years. I think I’m due for another trip!

    Congrats on being featured at VoiceBoks today, Marisa!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

