A Family Affair

My husband and I completed 90 days of P90X.  I knew we would be determined to complete the round but what I didn’t expect was the boys to get involved. In the beginning I joked around that they were my own personal trainers because they were quick to tell me that I wasn’t doing an exercise correctly or that I was taking too long of a break. But recently they have gone from personal trainers to full on work out buddies.

When we first started the boys would watch about 5 minutes of the work out and then go into their playroom to build legos or watch a movie. Then suddenly they started asking if they could exercise. Before long they were grabbing the bands while we were lifting weights and following the person on the video that does the modified moves. Now after dinner they ask what work out we are doing and insist on participating.

My 4 and 7 year old are currently enrolled in Tae kwan do. In order to get their black belt they will be required to do several weeks of conditioning. The boys have told us that they want to exercise with us so that they can get stronger and be prepared for their conditioning. In my opinion, they are never too young to learn healthy habits therefore P90X has become a family affair. For those that may be thinking that it is too intense for the kids, we do make them modify.  They do regular push ups or jumping jacks on the hard moves.  But the important thing is they are getting excited about fitness.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dina Demarest (@dinade)
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 00:10:17

    I’ve heard how hard P90x is. That’s impressive you finished it! Great job!

    Reply

  2. Kathy
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 00:26:53

    That’s great! Kid’s usually want to do what we are doing, how cool that you and your husband are modeling healthy habits for them. What a great family activity. This summer my oldest and I started walking on the beach each morning and although he would sometimes complain he really loved it and would push himself to do more. Good for you!

    Reply

  3. Kristen
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 03:13:02

    I agree that it’s never too early to get kids excited about fitness. Sounds like you have started a great family tradition.

    Reply

  4. Rosann
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 05:57:44

    I’ve heard P90X is a brutal workout. Are you noticing a physical difference in your muscle tone and overall appearance? I’m very tempted to try it out, but I’ve never personally known anyone who has completed it so I’m not sure if it truly brings results or not. Lol! I think it’s so cool that your family shared in the adventure together.

    Blessings,
    Rosann
    *oh! congrats on being a vB featured member this week! 🙂

    Reply

    • marisad21
      Oct 25, 2011 @ 09:49:49

      Yes! With each pregnancy I seemed to keep an extra 10 pounds. After baby #3, I started P90X and lost 30 pounds. I continued working out with baby #4(with my doctor’s permission and modifying the exercises) and lost that baby weight quickly. This last round of P90X I concentrated more on muscle tone. For the first time in my life I have definition in my arms. I am now a size smaller than I was in high school. The program is intense but I saw great results. I also feel stronger and have more energy to chase the kids.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

