We’re off to see the Wizard

I am pleased to announce that the Frank Family Halloween theme for 2011 is The Wizard of OZ!  Last year I was still pregnant with baby #4, although we already knew we having a girl.  Several people suggested that I do Wizard of Oz for the next Halloween. I loved the idea but didn’t think I would be able to convince my oldest boys. Well, my 4-year-old started watching the Veggietales movie The Wonderful Land of Ha’s. This meant all the boys had to watch that movie over and over and over again.  But because of the Veggietales movie they were familiar with the characters that I wanted them to dress up as.  They were totally on board with the theme.

I have learned from past experience that the kids are very excited on Halloween night. They get a little annoyed with me when I am trying to get the perfect picture.  Since all the costumes were ready I decided to do a dress rehearsal. The kids had a blast trying on their costumes and I got tons of pictures. Then on Halloween night I can try to get a few more pictures but I don’t have to stress about it.  Instead I just capture a lot of candid shots and let them have fun trick or treating.

Last weekend for our family movie night the older boys requested that we watch the real Wizard of Oz. I was a little surprised that all the boys sat through the movie.  But I was happy to introduce the boys to a classic.  As you can imagine the boys are counting down the minutes until trick or treating. My sweet little girl has no idea what she is in for tonight. I will admit it….I am almost as excited as the boys.    The 7-year-old is starting to have his own opinion, so I have a feeling this might be the last year with a theme.  I will enjoy every moment!

Happy Trick or Treating!

Scarecrow

Tin Man

Lion

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Dorothy

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Wizard of Oz 2011

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 05:09:29

    Mrisa I think you may have outdone yourself this year!!! They look great!!! Your daughter makes a great dorothy!! And the boys look wonderful!! Did you make all the costumes yourself! Thanks for sharing your little ones!! Hope they have a great Halloween!!

    Reply

  2. marisa frank
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 11:37:34

    Thank you Kathy. I am still amazed that I was able to pull this off. I did not make the costumes myself. Sewing is not something I am good at. I did however, do a lot of research and shopping online to find the best costumes, accessories, and the best price.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Lions, Tigers, and Bears…Oh My! « Frank Family Adventures
  4. Elizabeth
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 19:34:27

    AAAAAAAAAAAnd that’s the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. Ever. <3!

    Reply

  5. Shannon Milholland (@shanmilholland)
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 09:52:13

    I so wanted my four kids to do this before the oldest got too big to “trick or treat”. The problem though was they all wanted to be Dorothy… My best year of costumes was when they were the four seasons. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

