Cookies, Candy, and Cake…Oh My!

I must apologize for neglecting my blog the last two weeks.  I may have gotten a little carried away with a very special event.  My little girl is 1 this month and so I wanted to throw a fun birthday party.  I have experience planning parties for my boys but this was my first girl party. It was a challenge coming up with a theme because every time I looked for girl’s 1st birthday they were either pink or princess.  Those were two things I didn’t want.  While shopping for our Wizard of Oz Halloween costumes it dawned on me that those red ruby slippers would be perfect for the party.  I mean all girls love shoes right?   At that moment I knew we were going to have  Wizard of Oz 1st birthday.

 The invitations had a picture of the birthday girl dressed as Dorothy telling them to follow the yellow brick road to our address to celebrate daughter’s 1st Birthday.  When the guests arrived we had a sign on the front door that said “Bell out of Order, Please Knock.”  I thought it was cute, my husband thought that no one would realize it was from the movie.  I hate to admit it but my husband was right on this one.  Most of the guest asked me when our doorbell quit working.  Then once they walked inside and saw the rest of the decorations they put it all together.

One look at these adorable Melted Witches from Confessions of a Cookbook Queen, I knew I had to make them for the party.  I will be the first to admit that baking is not my strong point. I had to call a friend because I didn’t even know where to purchase candy melts,  but I am very happy with the end result.  Not only did they add to the decorations but they tasted good too!  The cupcakes were white frosting with ruby red slipper bookmark cupcake toppers.  I added some red sprinkles just for fun.  As I was placing other goodies on the table  I realized Wizard of Oz means lots of candy as we had skittles, gummi bears, and lollipops for more rainbow color.  I will be doing double work outs for a few days to burn off the extra calories consumed.  Ha! 

 Before the party I cut out large cardboard circles and tore colorful tissue paper into small pieces. I gathered some bottles of glue and popsicle sticks.  As the guest arrived I had the children glue the tissue paper to the cardboard circles to make their own unique paper lollipop.  Later we played  pin the heart on the tin man.  We made the tin man with cardboard and covered it in aluminum foil. Then used red construction paper to cut out the hearts.  Last but not least I had a jar of skittles for everyone to guess how many were inside.  Person closest to the actual amount got to take the jar home. 

My mother always did themed birthday parties for me and I have such fond memories.  I am trying to carry on that tradition.  With 4 kids it seems like I am always planning a party.  I have just 2 1/2 months to plan the next one.  Don’t worry, I already have a few ideas.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 01:59:47

    Marissa what a great idea for a party and so cute!! Your daughter is going to love looking back on those pictures when she is older! My husband would have said the same thing about the sign and I would have insisted that guests would have known!!! Thanks for a fun post with some great ideas!!

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 07:38:47

    You are such a great Mom, Marisa! I HATE planning B-day parties! It just feels like a lot of pressure and it’s budget-busting… Although I have always done themed parties, too, I can’t say I enjoy the process! (I enjoy cleaning up afterwards… how bad is THAT?) :-0
    Thanks for posting your ideas. I just might learn to relax and have fun with it!
    xoxo

    Reply

  3. Christina
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 17:36:38

    What a neat idea for a birthday party! The decorations and cupcakes look awesome. I hate to say it, but after 6 kids and I don’t know how many birthday parties, I’m getting pretty lame at planning them.

    Reply

    • marisad21
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 19:41:29

      It is getting harder and harder for me to come up with ideas for my boys. But I think I have a few years to have fun with the girl birthday parties.

      Reply

  4. Erin
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 23:24:50

    Everything turned out great! You know I am partial to this theme. I will definitely be putting these ideas in the vault in case I have a little girl.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Wow that 12 months went by fast! « Frank Family Adventures
  6. Brenda Trott, M.Ed (@MyParentingCoac)
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 15:10:19

    I love the broom’s and hats, but I don’t think they would be recognizable if I tried to make them:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

