Goals for 2012

I know I am a few days late with my New Year’s resolution.  My husband is off on Mondays and with the kids still on winter break it was nice to get some extra family time.  My days were spent playing new board games, watching the kids ride their scooters, and family movies.  Last night before I fell asleep I came up with a few things that I would like to accomplish this year.  I am writing them down and sharing here to keep me accountable.

 Fitness

It is not by accident that I list my fitness goals first.  Exercise changes my whole mood for the day.  I feel so much better and accomplish so much more when I take care of myself.

Workout at least 5 days a week.  I am having so much fun with the Rockin Body program I have decided to continue for the month of January.  Then I will do another round of P90X, followed up by the new P90X2.  I will record all my workouts in the Wowy supergym so I can track my progress.

Participate in a marathon.  I haven’t decided which one I want to do yet, but I am long over due.  It has been 4 years since my last race.

 Finanical

Pay off the home equity loan.  Then the only debt  that will remain is our mortgage payment.

 Fun

Complete my daughter’s baby book.  Since she is the 4th child I haven’t had as much time to work on it.  Okay, I will be honest…I haven’t even started it yet.  Normally I finish it by their 1st birthday and she is now 13 months old.

Scrapbook!  I would like to set aside just 2 hours every weekend for me to sit at the table and catch up on all my family books.  I am now 2 years behind with my scrapbooking.

Keep working on my blog.  I have so much more to learn and I have really enjoyed making new friends.                                                

 Family

A few goals for the kids:

Ethan(age 7)- test for his black belt, 20 AR points each quarter at school

Hudson(age 4)- enroll in the black belt club which is a three year commitment resulting in his black belt, learn to ride a bike without training wheels

Owen(age 2)- potty train and learn colors, numbers, and alphabet

Megan(age 1)- not to get trampled by her big brothers. 

It is easy to be motivated at the beginning of a new year.  Eventually the novelty wears off and many times these goals are forgotten.  I am not going to let that happen this time.  I have printed out my list so I can look at it regularly.  I am also going to re-evaluate this list on March 31st, June 30th, and Sept 30th. That way each quarter is a fresh start and I keep the momentum going all year long.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 11:20:10

    That is great, Marisa! I have a 5-day-per-week exercise schedule set up as well, and I totally agree about the change in mood that it brings! Also, I am 20 or so months behind on scrapbooking, so I will join you on the 2 hours per week goal. I have no idea what family goals to set in place; but we met a huge financial goal last year, which was begin tithing again. I love the idea of reevaluation every quarter. I should stop typing and get to listing! 😉

    Reply

  2. marisad21
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 11:34:04

    Thanks! I have made goals in the past but never posted them anywhere. Now I have learned the value of lists. I love crossing things off! Congrats on reaching your financial goal last year. That is a wonderful accomplishment.

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 13:33:12

    Those are great goals for you and your family!! I hope Meagan can achieve not getting trampled, that is a pretty tall order with 3 older brothers!! Happy New Year!!

    Reply

  4. Courtney L. Gillard
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 14:16:48

    It always helps to write your goals down. I make checklists every day for myself, and it helps so much! Sounds like you are going to have a busy year. Good luck, and you can always come link up your fitness progress on our Fit & Fabulous Hop. It’s on our Fitness page:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

