A little family competition makes you stronger

A few days ago a friend posted on facebook,  “I don’t have time to work out” is the adult version of “The dog ate my homework”.  This made me laugh but hit home at the same time.  With 4 kids I could try to use that excuse every day.  In order to fit exercise into our busy schedule I just have to get creative.

I usually workout in the mornings but lately extra curricular activities with the kids have interrupted my schedule.  I found it so easy to just skip my exercise instead of making it up.  If I try to work out in the evenings then the kids are upset because we don’t have a family game night or watch a family movie.  I have come up with a solution that was  inspired by Ms. Marvel Project.

The Frank family is now participating in the 100 push up challenge.  At the end of 7 weeks we all should be able to do 100 consecutive push ups.  Right now that seems impossible but I am determined!  The program requires you to do push ups 3 days a week and it gives details for 6 different fitness levels.  During the initial test I could only completed 12 push ups.  Each workout consists of 5 sets, with the last set being as many consecutive push ups as you can manage.

Of course since we are doing this as a family there is some serious competition going on.  My 5 year old and 8 year old are always trying to one up each other which I totally expected.  My husband is determined to do more than both of them combined.  It is very funny to watch my 2 year old and 16 month old attempt push ups and they just smile when you cheer them on.

The challenge is great for several reasons.  The two oldest boys participate in karate.  They are required to do push ups in class so this is good practice for them.  My oldest actually begins conditioning for his black belt next month so this is motivation to work harder. Spring break is right around the corner and we are planning a family vacation.  I was wondering how I would fit in some workouts while traveling.  Looks  like that won’t be a problem since we can do the push up challenge wherever we go.

In case you were wondering we are not tracking the number of push ups for the two youngest family members.  Below is the number of consecutive push ups completed at the end of week 1 day 2.  Please don’t laugh when you see that my boys can do more push ups than me.

Hubby- 50

8 yr old-42

5 yr old-22

Me-19

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 14:08:58

    Marissa that is a great idea! I’m famous myself for the “I don’t have time” excuse. Now I’m making sure I do something each day. I often think of you for inspiration! Great post! Thanks!

    Reply

  2. marisad21
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 20:28:01

    Awe, thank you so much Kathy. Now that I got all the kids on board they don’t let me use any excuses.

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 08:31:20

    The 100 pushup challenge is awesome! I’ve never done pushups before and now I’m doing more than I ever thought was possible for me. I’m glad you’re joining in too and it’s a great idea for getting the family involved!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

