Commitment to good health…a child’s view

Two years ago I made the decision to become a Beachbody coach.  After having four children I had gotten out of shape.  Since I am now in my 30’s it is not so easy to just bounce back.  I knew I had to work for it.  In order to succeed with my fitness goals I had to get the whole family on board to help keep me accountable.  Obviously we changed our eating habits but more importantly we had to get the kids excited about fitness.   My children are still pretty young so I often wonder what they are thinking about Mom’s health and fitness goals.  Do they think it is important for them or just for grown-ups?

Recently my son was required to complete 6 essay questions in order to test for his black belt.  One of the essay questions was about commitment to good health.  Below is his response:

What is your commitment to good health?

I will commit to good health, by exercising once a day and eating healthy foods.  Eating right is important because I will not be able to work my body as hard if I each a lot of junk food before I exercise.  Exercising is important so my body can do the things I need it to do when I am doing sports and martial arts.  Right now I am doing a push-up challenge with my family and I am trying to get up to 100 push-ups at one time.  Also, sleeping when you are tired not stay up late.  I am not able to run as far or do as many exercises when I have not gotten enough sleep the night before.   Also if we don’t get healthy we can’t do that many things and we will get fat.

I have a commitment to my health by staying in martial arts and playing as many sports as I can.  I am playing flag football right now and will try out for Pop Warner in September.  I do not want to get out of shape.

My son is only 8 years old but you are never too young to start good habits.  Eating right, daily exercise, and plenty of sleep is a great combination for a healthy lifestyle.  Nice to know he is on the right track.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney~Mommy LaDy Club
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 16:46:04

    That is pretty impressive from you son! I think it’s great you have the whole family involved. It’s better to have a lifestyle of habits.

    Reply

  2. Shannon Milholland (@shanmilholland)
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 07:05:52

    That is very cool. What great affirmation of your investment in yourself which has become an investment in your family’s well-being!

    Reply

  3. Ginger
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 11:06:48

    How cool that you have been able to pass on your healthy habits to your son! Very inspiring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

