Creating Memories during the Moving Madness

We got the keys to our new house almost 4 weeks ago but I still have boxes to unpack.  I can not park in the garage.  I have no photos on the walls.  Many people of asked me if we are all settled in.  I usually respond with the house is functional but not organized yet. Believe it or not I am okay with that.  Of course I would love for everything to be put away and for my house to look decorated but I also have 4 young children that need my attention.  During all of the moving madness my husband and I wanted to make the kids feel like they were part of the moving process and to make it fun for them.

We had a few minor repairs to do before we moved in furniture and lots of painting.  The kids couldn’t really help us paint so they were forced to stay downstairs in the playroom which only had half of their toys.  They did a really good job of playing together with only a few arguments.  Although I could have continued painting for hours, I knew it was time to stop for the kids sake.  Instead of finishing the master bedroom we spent the rest of the evening enjoying the pool.  The kids were beyond excited.  It was a great way to relax after working on the house.

The next weekend we had more painting to do.  My in-laws were very generous and watched the kids for us.  As we were driving to pick up the children my husbands suggests we sleep at the new house and take the kids swimming again.  I looked at him like he was crazy since we had not moved any furniture yet.  My husband explained that we would all camp out in the living room.  At that point I realized the kids would love it!  So we gathered all the sleeping bags and pillows along with their swimsuits before we picked them up.  When we told the kids of our plans they couldn’t stop screaming.  They thought it was the coolest idea.  I will admit it was not exactly a peaceful nights sleep for me but it was worth all the laughter and smiles from my children.

Maybe I will be able  to park in the garage this weekend after I unpack those last few boxes.  I probably won’t hang any photos on the wall until my Mother comes for a visit to help me in a few weeks.  But we have already created wonderful memories that I will cherish forever.  Those memories are what makes this feel like home sweet home even if my house is still unorganized.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney~Mommy LaDy Club
    Jul 28, 2012 @ 16:27:11

    I’m sure they will remember that forever! Very cool:)

    Reply

  2. kenyagjohnson
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 09:44:46

    Awww that was sweet. Kudos to your for striving to park in the garage. I shouldn’t be bothered by how other people use their space but it does drive me crazy that people don’t park in their garages because they can’t. 😉

    Reply

    • marisa frank
      Aug 03, 2012 @ 11:01:15

      I lost my garage the moment I got married. Ha! My husband always had a vintage car or a quad that needed the space. But he promised that I could half of the garage in this new house. I have been waiting 10 years for him to say that 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

