Organized for school

The kids started school this week.  Yippee! Of course I will miss the boys while they are in class but I am so happy the arguing will stop and they will no longer complain about being bored.   Truth is my kids love being on a schedule.  They love riding the bus and meeting new friends.  They love to learn new things.  But most of all they love responsibility and going to school makes them feel grown up.

My oldest son started 3rd grade and then my 5 yr old started Kindergarten.  Both boys are attending a new school since we moved over the summer.  I have double the backpacks, lunches, and papers with two kids in school this year.  I knew I had to figure out a way to be organized in order to save my sanity.  Thankfully there are a lot of great ideas out there.  I read several blogs and also looked at pinterest for some inspiration.  We now have a backpack station, a homework board, and a menu board to keep things running smoothly.

I ordered a wall shelf with hooks to be my backpack station.  I needed something big enough for all 4 kids.  The younger kids love to carry a backpack like their older siblings.  Not to mention everyone needs a place to put their jackets.

Next on my list was a place for all the papers.  Between homework assignments, school info, karate info, and art work my refrigerator was covered.  Of course the papers would fall off each time someone wanted something to eat.  I took an old frame and removed the glass.  Then I bought corkboard and covered it with burlap.  Add some ribbon and letters for colorful decorations.  Last but not least I added 4 bulldog clips to hold the papers.   The first letter of my kids names spells home.  They put their papers on the clip under their initial.

My kids love to eat!  The moment they wake up they start asking what is for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  I shop for groceries on a weekly basis.  I always have the menu in my head.  But I had a wall in the kitchen that needed something to add some color.  Then I saw this menu planner at Mom Colored Glasses.  I couldn’t make my recipe cards fast enough.  The kids can flip thru the binder to help me decide what to cook.   Then I arrange them in the order I want on the board.  But the best part is I no longer have to answer the question “What’s for dinner?” a million times during the day.

We are still adjusting to a new school campus.  We haven’t figured out the perfect time to arrive at the bus stop yet.  But I can honestly say we had a great first week!  I feel organized and ready to tackle the school year.  Do they look ready?

Leave a Reply

