Taking care of Mom

As a mother of four my days get busy.  Rarely do I have a free moment.  There are meals to prepare, a house to clean, laundry to fold, and homework to check.  Then we add in the time I spend driving them to school, karate, and other social events.  I don’t want to sound like I am complaining because honestly I am so thankful that I am able to stay at home with my children.  I know they will grow up too fast and that I will miss all these busy moments.  However, the last few months I have come to realize that in order to take good care of my family I also need to take care of me.

For the past few months I have been putting my exercise routine on the back burner.  I have been working out a few times a week when I had time but I wasn’t making it a priority.  Like most moms do, I felt it was more important to tend to my family’s needs and I would just work out whenever I had time.  Then I noticed that I was overly tired and gaining  weight which  made me cranky.  Let’s face it when Mom is cranky  the whole house suffers.

Its time for a change.  I need to remember its okay to take care of me!  The first item on my to-do list is now exercise.  After I drop my older kids at the bus stop of course.  I  immediately put on my workout clothes when I wake up so there are no excuses.  Once breakfast is done and the kids are off to school my younger kids know I am going to take 30 -60 minutes to exercise.  Right now I am doing a 30 day arm challenge and the Combat program by Les Mills.  Sometimes my kids join in other times they color quietly or play in their room.  But the result is I feel better and have more energy throughout the day.  The bonus is my kids are watching me create healthy habits.

If you are interesting in joining a 30 day challenge or looking for accountability let me know in the comments.   We would love for you to join our group.  It is nice to have a group to encourage one another and stay motivated.  It makes such a big difference. What are you waiting for?  Make health and fitness a priority. I promise you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

