Kicking Karate Party

Interesting fact: 1 out of 900 people that start martial arts actually reach their black belt.

My son passed his test on May 12th, 2012 at the age of 8.  I thought that was a good reason to throw a party!  I love finding the perfect decorations and creating cool treats.  Of course I am an amateur when it comes to baking.   I certainly don’t have all the latest kitchen utensils and gadgets. I just sort of wing it.  Below are a few pictures of what I what I put together.

I found all the paper products(plates, napkins, cups, and tablecloth) online at Party City.  They were on sale for $1 per pack.  I could not have done better at the dollar store with plain solid colors.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With shipping a karate gi cookie cutter cost $20.  I couldn’t bring myself to pay that price so I did them free hand instead.  My cookie decorating skills need some work.  I figured out I don’t have much patience for it, nor do I have any decorating tools.  But they are still cute and the kids said they tasted good which is all that  matters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used the lollipops as a party favor for everyone to take home with them.  This was my first attempt with chocolate molds.  It was pretty easy but more time consuming than I imagined.  I did the black belt first and let that set.  Then I did the rest of it in white.  I wasn’t brave enough to do different colors for the hands, face, or hair.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The road to black belt took 4 years.  It was fun to look back and see how much my son had grown with this collage my Mom and I put together.  After the party my son asked if we could frame it.  The collage now hangs on the wall in his room.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am so proud of my son for reaching his goal.  It was an amazing day!  This is him trying to steal some of the treats.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Camilleta
    May 30, 2012 @ 23:39:48

    That is awesome!! Definitely worth throwing a party 🙂 Congrats to him.

    Reply

  2. Dollops of Diane
    May 31, 2012 @ 17:10:29

    Congrats to your son! I cannot believe that you did all those cookies free hand! Congrats to YOU!

    Reply

  3. Shannon Milholland (@shanmilholland)
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 11:57:53

    Marisa, this is so precious! I especially love the cookies. I have a real weakness for frosted sugar cookies so I think every party is better with them.

    I did not know the completion percentage was so low. What a wonderful accomplishment for your son. I know you are so proud!

    Reply

  4. Rosa @ FlutterFlutter
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 12:03:05

    My oldest (7) was in karate for almost a year… and I’m still disappointed that he didn’t want to continue! Congrats to your son! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment